Bis der Panther
seine Geschichte erzählt,
wird die Legende der Jagd
immer den Jäger glorifizieren.

Geschichten von
People of Color

Panthertainment produziert Film- und Serien-Content mit dem Fokus auf Geschichten von POC für den globalen Markt.

Vielfalt
als Normalität

Durch Geschichten, in denen Diversität als Normalität gezeigt wird, bietet Panthertainment alternative Blickwinkel zu dem vorherrschenden eurozentrischen Narrativ in der Medienwelt. Seit 2020 wird Panthertainment von der UFA GmbH unterstützt.

Mission

Die Presse
berichtet …

Jede Geschichte
verändert die Welt

  • Ein Sachse

    »Schwarz ist die Stadt u. wie todmüde Vögel fallen Menschen aus allen Himmeln …«

    Ein Sachse

    Serienformat

    Ein Sachse ist die wahre Geschichte der unglaublichen Karriere des ersten
    schwarzen Polizisten Ost-Deutschlands, der zum gesuchten Verbrecher wird.
    Als Sam hinter Gittern landet, kann er zum ersten Mal in seinem Leben nicht mehr
    davonlaufen. Weder vor denen, die ihn aus verschiedenen Motiven mit Fragen
    nach seiner Biografie belagern, noch vor sich selbst und seiner Auseinandersetzung mit dem lebenslangen Konflikt, der ihn vom Aushängeschild für deutsches Miteinander zum Staatsfeind machte.

  • Der Park

    Der Park

    Serienformat

    Markus Meier ist ein aufstrebender Politiker einer links angesiedelten Partei, der in Notwehr unbemerkt einen jungen afrikanischen Drogendealer umbringt und damit Öl in das bereits lichterloh brennende politische Feuer in Berlin und ganz Deutschland gießt. Während die Karriere von Markus in dieser brisanten Lage immer steiler nach oben geht, ist es sein stetig wachsendes quälendes Gewissen, das ihn immer tiefer in den Sumpf der Dunkelheit treibt.

  • The Break

    “Life is like surfing…wait for the moment, paddle hard, stand up if you can and ride the wave of your life”

    The Break

    Serienformat

    The Break ist die Geschichte einer jungen deutschen Frau auf der Flucht durch Mittelamerika, die sich den Dämonen ihrer Vergangenheit stellen muss, um durch die Kraft der Selbstliebe die Welle ihres Lebens reiten zu können. Durch den Kontakt zu den verschiedenen Menschen mit denen sie auf ihrem Ritt in Kontakt kommt, lernt sie das Leben aus anderen Perspektiven kennen und lieben.

  • Rip Tide

    Rip Tide

    Feature

    Rip Tide ist die Geschichte eines afro-deutschen Arztes, der nach einem Surfunfall von einem afrikanischen Flüchtlingsschiff aufgegriffen, von der spanischen Küstenwache für einen Flüchtling gehalten und schließlich auf dem Meer zurückgelassen wird. Nachdem das Boot kentert, wird er zusammen mit einem anderen Überlebenden an das Festland in Marokko gespült und muss mit diesem zusammen die tödliche Reise zurück nach Europa antreten.

  • Landless

    “Let's just say that history dealt us a bad hand -
    Should we just accept it?
    Or should we take back what was once ours?!”

    Landless

    Feature

    Bei einem ‘Feelgood, Eskapismus’ Filmdreh in Namibia befreundet sich der afrodeutsche Hauptdarsteller mit einem einheimischen Crewmitglied und bekommt so Einblick in die rassistischen Grundfesten auf denen das Land nach wie vor steht. Nachdem er selber Opfer eines rassistischen Übergriffes geworden ist, löst er ungewollt eine Revolution aus, die den ursprünglichen Drehort des Filmes zum Epizentrum des Umbruchs werden lässt.

  • Endlich Deutsch

    "Wer hat Angst vorm schwarzen Mann?"
    -oder-
    Die Kunst ein Teil des Ganzen zu werden!

    Endlich Deutsch

    Dokumentarfilm

    In „Endlich Deutsch“ begleiten wir Tyron Ricketts dabei, wie er versucht formal ein deutscher Staatsbürger zu werden und untersuchen auf diesem Weg gleichzeitig, ob in einer Medienlandschaft, die eine dunkle Hautfarbe immer noch als fremd im eigenen Land darstellt, ein deutscher Pass wirklich reicht, um im Jahre 2018 als schwarzer Mensch in der Mitte der deutschen Gesellschaft anzukommen.

  • the Gesamtschau

    »Ein despektierlicher Blick auf das 19. Jahrhundert und die Erklärung der Digitalisierung«

    the Gesamtschau

    Online Show

    The Gesamtschau ist eine 3-5 minütige Youtube Serie, in der Digital-Philosoph Alexander Markowetz die digitale Welt erklärt. Die ganze digitale Welt? Ja!

Tyron
Ricketts

Tyron Ricketts ist Gründer und Geschäftsführer von Panthertainment.

Zu Beginn seiner Karriere produzierte und moderierte er die Hip Hop Sendung Word Cup auf Viva TV. Mit Kurzfilmen wie Afrodeutsch (Sundance) und Projekten wie Brothers Keepers verknüpfte er früh Entertainment und politische Botschaften. Mit Mellowbag und Weltenreiter erzielte Tyron Chart-Erfolge als Musiker. Seinen Weg als Schauspieler setzte er mit Filmen wie Bunte Hunde und Kanack Attack fort. Er spielte in zahlreichen Serienproduktionen, darunter Soko Leipzig, Dogs of Berlin, und Die Inselärztin. Mit 60 Einträgen bei ImdB ist Tyron einer der erfolgreichsten schwarzen Schauspieler in Deutschland. Für die deutsche Bundesregierung realisierte er Integrations-Programme wie Respekt 2010 und Heimat Almanya. Tyron lebte 4 Jahre in den USA - in L.A. verschaffte er sich einen Einblick in das internationale Filmgeschäft und in New York konzeptionierte er für Harry Belafonte Social Media Strategien gegen Rassismus. Mit diesen Erfahrungen kehrte Tyron 2017 nach Deutschland zurück.
Aktuell produziert er von Berlin aus Filme und Serien mit dem Fokus auf People of Color für den globalen Markt.

Iriedaily ⤫ Panthertainment

Stay different

IRIEDAILY und Panthertainment machen gemeinsame Sache.
Die Berliner Streetwear Brand IRIEDAILY und wir bringen eine gemeinsame Kollektion heraus, in der sich die Philosophien beider Unternehmen vereinen.

Kreativität, das Bewusstsein von Individualität und der alternative Blickwinkel verbindet uns seit 25 Jahren:

Zur Kollektion

Beirat
und Rückgrat

  • Patrick Mushatsi-Kareba

    Patrick Mushatsi-Kareba

    Nach einem Studium der Politikwissenschaft an der Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe Universität in Frankfurt bekleidete Patrick zahlreiche einflussreiche Positionen bei T-Online International, Napster, Apple und Universal Music. Seit seiner Ernennung zum CEO von Sony Music Entertainment Deutschland, Österreich und Schweiz lebt Patrick heute in Frankfurt, Berlin und München.

  • Gina Belafonte

    Gina Belafonte

    Gina widmete ihr bisheriges Leben der Aufgabe, eine Brücke zwischen Entertainment und Aktivismus zu schlagen. Die in New York geborene Tochter von Harry Belafonte stand dabei auf Podien, an der Basis auf der Strasse, sowie vor und hinter der Kamera. Gina ist die Produzentin von SING YOUR SONG, eine international erfolgreiche Dokumentation, die das Leben und Wirken ihres Vaters erzählt. Gina leitet Sankofa.org, eine Organisation, die ebenfalls Entertainment und Aktivismus verbindet, um damit kulturellen und gesellschaftlichen Wandel herbeizuführen.

  • Alexander Markowetz

    Alexander Markowetz

    Von 2009 bis 2016 war Alexander Markowetz Juniorprofessor für Informatik an der Rheinischen Friedrich-Wilhelms-Universität Bonn, wo er als Autor, Medienwissenschaftler und Informatiker seine Erkenntnisse in seinem viel beachteten Buch „Digitaler Burnout“ zusammenfasste. Als Philosoph für Digitalisierung ist Alexander einer der gefragtesten Vordenker dieses Gebiets im deutschsprachigen Raum.

  • Araba Pilic

    Araba Pilic

    Nach einem Schauspielstudium in London arbeitet Araba bis heute in nationalen und internationalen Projekten. Sie war Gründungsmitglied und 2. Vorstand von SFD- Schwarze Filmschaffende in Deutschland, der erste Verein von und für People of Colour der Film-und Fernsehschaffenden in Deutschland. Seit 2015 ist sie in München hauptamtlich im Bereich Kooperationen für die Stiftung Menschen für Menschen tätig, die seit über 37 Jahren nachweislich und erfolgreich Hilfe zur Selbstentwicklung in Äthiopien betreibt.

  • Dr. Stephan Bücker

    Dr. Stephan Bücker

    Stephan hat Rechtswissenschaften und Medienwirtschaft studiert. Der promovierte Jurist ist als Medienanwalt und Unternehmer tätig. Er ist Partner der Münchener Medienkanzlei Straßer Ventroni Deubzer Freytag & Jäger Rechtsanwälte. Als geschäftsführender Gesellschafter betreut er die Geschicke der Berliner Filmproduktion Horris Film GmbH sowie der Wirtschafts- und Personalberatung Eßer & Bücker in Köln.

  • Tahir Della

    Tahir Della

    Tahir ist seit 1986 ein fester Bestandteil der jüngeren Schwarzen Bewegung in Deutschland. Zunächst aktiv in der lokalen Münchner ISD Gruppe mit den Schwerpunkten Community-Arbeit, Filmfestivals, Vortrags- und Podiumsveranstaltungen, ist Tahir seit Gründung des bundesweiten ISD Verbandes 2001 (ISD Bund e.V.) im Vorstand eingebunden. Seine Schwerpunkte sind unter anderem das jährliche Bundestreffen der ISD, die Kampagnen „Stop Racial Profiling“, „No Blackfacing“ und das Ausstellungsprojekt „Homestory Deutschland“. Tahir kommt aus München und wohnt in Berlin.

  • Christoph Silber

    Christoph Silber

    Christoph ist ein zweisprachiger Autor und Filmemacher mit Deutsch-Britischem Hintergund. Christophs Arbeit an zahlreichen erfolgreichen Filmen wie "Goodbye Lenin", "Nordwand"und "My last day without you", bei dem er auch als Produzent tätig geworden ist, machen ihn zusammen mit seinem internationalen Emmy Gewinn für "Das Wunder von Kärnten" laut Screen International zu "einem der heissesten Drehbuchautoren Europas." Seit 2008 lebt Christoph Silber in L.A..

  • Dawa Tarchin Phillips

    Dawa Tarchin Phillips

    Dawa Tarchin Phillips ist Gründer und CEO von Empowerment Holdings, einer multi-nationalen Leadership Development Firma. Er ist Gründer des The Mindful Leadership Tribe, einer Online-Community von Achtsamkeits-Experten. Dawa ist Achtsamkeits- und Meditations-Experte, Autor, Entrepreneur, spiritueller Lehrer und Forscher. Er ist Präsident der International Mindfulness Teachers Association, einer globalen Organisation für professionelle Achtsamkeits-Lehrer aus 27 Ländern. Dawa absolvierte zwei dreijährige Meditations-Retreats und ist eine führende Stimme der globalen Achtsamkeitsbewegung. Seine Arbeit wurde in der New York Times, der Huffington Post, Men's Fitness, Forbes und Fast Company gefeatured. Dawa lebt mit seiner Familie in Santa Barbara, Kalifornien.

Schreiben
Sie uns

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Nachricht an
mail@panthertainment.com
presse@panthertainment.com

Until the panther tells
his side of the story,
the tale of the hunt
will always glorify
the hunter.

Stories of
People
of Color

Panthertainment produces film and series content with a focus on POC stories for the global marketplace. Panthertainment consults in the field of D&I storytelling.

Diversity
as normality

Through stories in which diversity is shown to be the norm, Panthertainment showcases alternative perspectives to the prevailing eurocentric narrative in the media world. Since 2020 Panthertainment is supportet by the UFA GmbH.

News and
press

  • First collaboration for streaming service Disney+

    First collaboration for streaming service Disney+

    Big Window produces the first Disney+ Original German series “Sam – Ein Sachse” (Sam — A Saxon) in cooperation with with Panthertainment : Jörg Winger with Big Window Productions in cooperation with Tyron Ricketts' Panthertainment tell the extraordinary story of East Germany's first black police officer.
    Learn more

  • Disney+ Casts German Original “Sam — a Saxon”

    Disney+ Casts German Original “Sam — a Saxon”

    Disney+ casts original series “Sam – a Saxon” about first black police officer in East Germany.
    Hollywood Reporter

  • Getting reel on diversity in German cinema

    Getting reel on diversity in German cinema

    “Based on the real-life story of Samuel Meffire (born in Zwenkau near Leipzig to Cameroonian-German parents), this Sachse became the first Afro-Deutsch police officer and a symbol of post-reunification migrant assimilation. (…) The series is co-produced by 49-year-old Black actor, producer and musician Tyron Ricketts.” Read more on exberliner.com

  • Why German films and series need to become more diverse

    Why German films and series need to become more diverse

    Podcast: Netflix Talk of the Week
    Listen on spotify

  • The Timing has never been Better

    The Timing has never been Better

    Tyron Ricketts imagines German television and film to better represent the actual Germany: diverse. Read on qiio.de

  • Bridgerton: Color Conscious or Color Blind‽

    Bridgerton: Color Conscious or Color Blind‽

  • Actor Tyron Ricketts fights against stereotypes

    Actor Tyron Ricketts fights against stereotypes

    zibb rbb

  • Tyron Ricketts about diversity on television

    Tyron Ricketts about diversity on television

  • Cover story of Berliner Zeitung Magazin

    Cover story of Berliner Zeitung Magazin

  • Diversity at UFA

    Diversity at UFA

  • Interview with Tyron Ricketts

    Interview with Tyron Ricketts

  • Hochkultur Podcast

    Hochkultur Podcast

  • What is it about George Floyd and racism in German film‽

    What is it about George Floyd and racism in German film‽

  • Interview with Tyron Ricketts

    Interview with Tyron Ricketts

    A real chance for change!
    Read more on gala.de

  • Is German cinema rascist?

    Is German cinema rascist?

  • UFA Fiction Links with Tyron Ricketts’ Panthertainment to Tell More Representative Stories

    UFA Fiction Links with Tyron Ricketts’ Panthertainment to Tell More Representative Stories

  • UFA and Panthertainment dare to achieve greater diversity

    UFA and Panthertainment dare to achieve greater diversity

Changing the world,
one story at a time

  • Kitz

    Kitz

    Consulting on diversity

    Panthertainment contributed consulting on diversity for the show “Kitz” (Netflix) and adjusted the characters to be more realistic. Learn more on netflixwoche.de

  • Moooment!

    Moooment!

    Consulting on diversity

    From pitching to script editing, actor and producer Tyron Ricketts advised the Kika editorial team on the development of the project. Learn more at kika.de

  • Black Saxon

    »The city is black and- like deadtired birds people are falling out of heavens …«

    Black Saxon

    Series

    Black Saxon is the unbelievable yet true story of the first black policeman in East Germany, whose career took a turn from dedicated citizen to wanted felon. When Sam ends up behind bars, for the first time in his life, he can no longer run away from his demons. Neither from those who try to assert their agendas upon him, nor from his lifelong inner conflict with himself and his relationship with the society he strived, often in vain, to be a part of. Did his short-lived notoriety as the figurehead of German coexistence give rise to him becoming enemy of the state or was this fall inevitable?

  • Der Park

    Der Park

    Series

    Markus Meier, an aspiring politician within the left-wing party unwittingly kills a young African drug dealer in self-defense. This secret crime fuels the flames of an already blazing political fire in both Berlin and greater Germany. Nevertheless, Markus’ career grows in the shadow of this volatile and torturous situation, as his conscience drives him deeper and deeper into a mental swamp of darkness.

  • The Break

    “Life is like surfing…wait for the moment, paddle hard, stand up if you can and ride the wave of your life”

    The Break

    Series

    The Break is the story of a young German woman on the run through Central America. In order to ride the wave of life, she must empower herself through self-love and face the demons of her past. Through contact with the various people she meets on her journey, she learns of life from different perspectives.

  • Rip Tide

    Rip Tide

    Feature Film

    Rip Tide is the story of an Afro-German doctor who is saved at sea by an African refugee ship after a surf accident. After the ship is picked up by the Spanish Coast Guard, the doctor is considered one of the refugees and ultimately left at sea in a less-than-sea-worthy boat that capsizes. Along with the only other survivor, he washes up on the shores of Morocco to begin a deadly journey back to Europe.

  • Landless

    “Let's just say that history dealt us a bad hand -
    Should we just accept it?
    Or should we take back what was once ours?!”

    Landless

    Feature Film

    At a 'get-away' film shoot in Namibia, an Afro-German lead actor befriends a local crew member and gets an insider view into the racist tenets of those who continue to hold power over the country. After he himself becomes the victim of a racist assault, it unintentionally triggers a revolution that will turn the film's shooting location into the epicenter of action.

    Let the upheaval begin.

  • Finally German

    »How much do black lives matter?«
    -or-
    The art of becoming part of society!

    Finally German

    Documentary

    In "Finally German", we accompany Tyron Ricketts as he formally attempts to be a German citizen. At the same time, we investigate whether or not dark skin is considered foreign in the German media landscape, and would a German passport really be enough to help this, even in 2018?

  • The Gesamtschau

    "A disparaging view on the 19th century and
    a manual for digitization"

    The Gesamtschau

    Online Show

    “The Gesamtschau” is a 3-5 minute Youtube series where digital philosopher Alexander Markowetz explains the digital world… yes, the WHOLE DIGITAL WORLD!

Tyron
Ricketts

Tyron Ricketts is the Founder and Managing Director of Panthertainment.

With 60 entries at ImdB, Tyron is the most successful black actor in Germany. After producing and hosted the hip-hop programme “Word Cup” on Viva TV from 1995 to 2000, he began to combine entertainment and political messaging with short film projects such as “Afrodeutsch” (Sundance) and the transnational anti-racism music project Brothers Keepers. With the group Mellowbag, Tyron achieved chart-topping success as a musician with the album “Weltenreiter”. He continued his career as an actor with movies like “Bunte Hunde” and “Kanack Attack”. He also acted in numerous TV series, including “Soko Leipzig”, “Dogs of Berlin”, and “Die Inselärztin”. For the German government, he implemented integration programmes such as Respekt 2010 and Heimat Almanya. Tyron moved to New York in 2015 and conceived social media strategies against racism for Harry Belafonte. Tyron returned to Germany in 2017. Based in Berlin, he produces films and series with a focus on People of Color for the global market.

Iriedaily ⤫ Panthertainment

Stay different

IRIEDAILY and PANTHERTAINMENT are joining forces.
Together, the Berlin Streetwear label and we are launching a shirt and hoodie collection that combines both companies’ philosophies.

Creativity, individuality and an alternative point of view has been connecting us for the last 25 years.

Check it out

Advisory
backbone

  • Patrick Mushatsi-Kareba

    Patrick Mushatsi-Kareba

    After working in different important positions for T- Online International, Napster, Apple and Universal Music Patrick, who holds a degree in Political Science from Frankfurt's Johann-Wolfgang-Goethe University, was named CEO of Sony Music Entertainment in Germany, Austria and Switzerland. Patrick Mushatsi-Kareba lives in Frankfurt, Berlin and Munich.

  • Gina Belafonte

    Gina Belafonte

    Gina was the lead producer on the internationally acclaimed documentary film, “SING YOUR SONG”, exploring the extraordinary life and legacy of her father Harry Belafonte. Further, she runs link: http://sankofa.org/ text: Sankofa.org target:_blank), an organization that bridges entertainment with activism to promote cultural and civic engagement in the 21st century. Born and raised in New York City, Gina Belafonte has spent her life in the arenas of entertainment and activism in front and behind the camera, on the podium and on the streets.

  • Alexander Markowetz

    Alexander Markowetz

    As a philosopher for digitalization, Alexander is one of the most sought-after pioneers within his field in the German-speaking world. From 2009 to 2016 Alexander Markowetz was a junior professor in Computer Science at the University of Bonn, where he presented his findings as both media and computer scientist in his highly acclaimed book “Digitaler Burnout”.

  • Araba Pilic

    Araba Pilic

    After finishing her studies in London, Araba continues to work on national and international acting projects. She was a founding member and 2. board leader of SFD-Black Filmmakers in Germany, the first association of People of Color in film and tv in Germany. Since 2015 Araba is responsible for the cooperation department for "Stiftung Menschen für Menschen", a Munich and Addis Abeba based non-profit that is successfully pushing development cooperation in Ethiopia for the last 37 years.

  • Tahir Della

    Tahir Della

    Tahir is crucial part of the new black movement in Germany since 1986. Actively involved at ISD Munich, focusing on community work, film festivals, talks and panel sessions, Tahir became a chairman when the ISD society (ISD Bund e.V.) became national in 2001. Since then, among other tasks, Tahirs focus lies on the annual National ISD Meeting, the campaign “Stop Racial Profiling”, “No Blackfacing” and the exhibition “Homestory Germany”. Tahir was born in Munich and lives in Berlin.

  • Christoph Silber

    Christoph Silber

    Christoph is a bilingual author and filmmaker with a German-British background. Referred to as, "one of Europe's hottest screenwriters" by Screen International, Silber has won an International Emmy and worked on numerous successful films including "Goodbye Lenin", "Nordwand" and "My Last Day Without You", for which he was also a producer. He has resided in the U.S.A. since 2008.

  • Dawa Tarchin Phillips

    Dawa Tarchin Phillips

    Dawa Tarchin Phillips is Founder/CEO of Empowerment Holdings, a multi-national leadership development company. He is founder of The Mindful Leadership Tribe, an online community of mindful leaders. He is a mindfulness and meditation expert, author, entrepreneur, spiritual leader, researcher and educator. He is President of the International Mindfulness Teachers Association, a global professional organization for Mindfulness teaching professionals from 27 countries. Dawa completed two 3-year meditation retreats and is a leading voice in the global mindfulness movement. His work has been featured in the New York Times, Huffington Post, Men’s Fitness, Forbes and Fast Company. He lives with his family in Santa Barbara, California.

We like to hear
from you